Packing for my Upcoming Disneyland Trip

I’m so excited for our trip to Disneyland this year. I am a little worried about the crowds because I’ve never been there around Thanksgiving and I heard it gets pretty bad. I just hope that they don’t close down the parks…

But being that I’m less than two weeks away, I thought I’d give you a rundown of what I like to pack for a Disneyland trip. I’ll keep my list to just the Disneyland leg of the trip. We’ll be away for 10 days but only 3 of those will be in the park. The rest of the time will be with family in Santa Monica and Fresno.

Since this is my first time in Disneyland for Christmas, I am working on research of how the weather typically is down there. I was able to find an extended forecast that shows the weather will be in the high 60s to mid 70s so if it stays that way, the weather will be perfect. 

Clothes – As with any time of year going to the parks, it is usually warmer there, depending on where you live so I always come prepared for warmer weather. Personally no matter when I go, I like to pack layers. I always bring a sweatshirt because it will get a little colder at night and in the early mornings, plus you never know. 

I run hot-blooded so I’m usually warm so I am packing a few short-sleeved shirts, a sweatshirt, and a light sweater or two. Since I’m only going in three days, at the moment I’m planning on just having a pair of jeans, and one more pair of casual pants or Capri’s.

Good tennis shoes are a must. You need a really comfortable pair of shoes because you are spending the majority of your time on foot. You should plan on bringing a pair of flip-flops or shoes you don’t mind getting wet IF you plan on going on Splash Mountain or Grizzley River Run which we aren’t planning on doing because it will probably be too cold for it. They do ease off of the extra water during colder months on Splash Mountain (not sure about Grizzley as I’ve never been on it and don’t really have a desire to unless it is hotter than hades in the dead of summer and I bring a change of clothes). Also, if you’re planning on going on one of those “wet” rides, you might not want to wear jeans that day.  They are a terror to walk around in when wet…

Extras – Sunblock is a requirement no matter what the time of year because you are outdoors all day and a sunburn isn’t fun when you’re walking around all day! Also a good pair of sunglasses to keep your eyes safe from the sun, and a hat if you feel so inclined. Of course, you might want to skip the hat so you can show off a pair of Mickey Ears.

We bring an umbrella with us as well no matter the time of year. Of course you’re more likely to get rain in the Winter/Spring time but you never know and it’s good to keep on hand. You can always just leave it at your room and if the forecast says that there’s a chance of rain, store it in your locker.

We always bring a small backpack or (in my case) a cross body bag to store essentials you’ll need with you like the following:

Hand sanitizer – There are kids and people with hygiene issues all over the parks and people touch EVERYTHING (trust me 3 of the last 4 trips ended with me having a full-blown cold and that’s no fun in Disneyland). On the same subject, you might want a pack of hand wipes too…

Sunglasses – as mentioned above… But obviously you can store them in your bag when you’re indoors.

A small coin purse – I like to keep my wallet at the hotel or in the locker and store my ID and money the pockets specifically for these items in my bag. If you don’t have pockets like that, use a coin purse or if you feel so inclined bring your wallet, it’s non of my business. 😉

A camera – I strongly believe everyone should bring a camera with them, even if they have an iPhone, unless you trust the other people with you to take all of the pictures because you’ll want to capture all of the fun you’re having. Since getting a digital camera (God knows how many years ago) I have been taking HUNDREDS of pictures at the parks. They are great memories and you can always make a printable book through a number of websites like Kodak and I think Shutterfly has a book you can create too. I have a MacBook so they already have that option on iPhoto. Or you can always make an old-fashioned photo album as well.

A cell phone – Thank God for the invention of cell phones, and better yet, smart phones. I have had a smart phone for about a year now and I don’t know what I would do without it. It is always good to have on hand in case you get away from your group. They have a ton of free apps for wait times on rides which comes in VERY handy. Even with bringing a digital camera (above) you might want to take some pictures with your phone too whether to update your status on Facebook or Instagram or whatever. But for me personally, the iPhone (at least) takes some pretty good pictures depending on what it is.  If you have a smart phone you might want to invest in a portable charger. My iPhone (especially since the new update) doesn’t last on a full day’s charge (especially if I’m taking pictures) and you really don’t want to be stuck with a dead phone…

Tickets, Fastpasses, etc. – You’ll want to keep your tickets with you to get between the parks so don’t store them in a locker. Also, if you have fastpasses, you’ll want to keep those safe.

Other little nicnacks – lip balm, a pair of nail clippers and/or a nail file, a small mirror, band aids, hand cream, anything you’d want with you on an all day outing.

Accessories – If you’re like me, you want to be “Disneyfied” while you’re there too. I have two Disney shirts that I’m planning on wearing and plenty of Disney pins. I have a lanyard I wear them on and I only wear a few at a time because that thing is heavy! And a pair of Mickey Ears doesn’t hurt either!

A Locker – I highly recommend you get a locker, unless you really like to travel light.  You might want an extra empty bag for souvenirs, also you can store anything you won’t need with you all day like your sweatshirt, sunblock, you’re purse if you don’t want to leave it in your hotel room, etc.

So I think that’s about it for my list of essentials for a Disney trip. I didn’t add toiletries because that’s you’re own business and you know what you need for a set amount of days…

Leave a Reply

