Frozen Review

frozen

We stretched out our last little bit of vacation Sunday evening by going to see Disney’s Frozen after a quick bite at California Pizza Kitchen which was near enough to walk to.

Going into this, I really didn’t know much of the storyline. Honestly, I didn’t see much in the way of advertising for the movie.  At least what the movie was about.  I didn’t find out until after seeing the movie that it was inspired by the Snow Queen which is an unfamiliar storyline to me so that might have a large part to do with it.

At first, I really didn’t have much of a desire to see this movie.  Our Disney club went to see it while I was at Disneyland so I missed that event. But the more I heard some of the members talk about how excited they were to see it and all of my friends and family that saw it were all boasting about the movie too so I wanted in. Plus being a bit melancholy from leaving Disneyland, I needed to keep myself immersed in Disney in one way or another and this was just as good of a fix as anything else.

One thing that I first noticed when I saw images of Ana was that I mistook her for Rapunzel. She looks a little too much like her.  It’s like they took Rapunzel’s face and added darker hair and bangs… But that thought went completely out the window after about 2 minutes into the movie.

I don’t want to add any spoilers so I’m going to be a bit vague on the details, but I really did love this movie.  Everything about it was great.  All of the elements you expect from a Disney movie were there from the beautiful animation, amazing music, and lovable characters.

My favorite character of all was Olaf, the talking snow man. He reminded me a bit of Dug from Up.  He was so happy and positive about everything.  You can’t help but love him! There were some surprises to the movie too that I did not see coming and I am usually good about things like that but I’m not saying anything about that as I already mentioned I don’t want to spoil the movie.

Frozen has an amazing soundtrack that rivals any of the best classic Disney movies from the past.  The movie has a perfect blend of both Broadway type ballads and upbeat numbers involving pretty much every character throughout the movie.

I’m happy that the morals of the more recent Disney stories are showing that these young ladies don’t have to have a man to conquer anything (Brave is possibly the best example of this) and Frozen works right into that.

So to sum it up, if you like Disney movies at all or just animated in general, you HAVE to see this movie.  There’s a reason it’s still #1 in the at the Box Office.  I for one wouldn’t mind seeing it again on the big screen and I’m buying it the day it comes out on DVD/Blu-ray.

I hope this was at least a little helpful. I haven’t written a whole lot of reviews so maybe with a little more practice they will get better!

Leave a Reply

