Disneyland Trip Report Part Two- Day One of Disneyland

I was so excited for this trip because I have longed to see Disneyland at Christmas time for years now and while it wasn’t the greatest week to go, I was so happy to be back. This was the first year it was just my mom and me at Disneyland.  My cousins were there on the last day (merely coincidence) so we weren’t alone the whole time, but I think it was nice because we didn’t have someone whom shall remain nameless whining and complaining the whole time.

Anyway! The weather was great.  It stayed between the low 50s to the high 60s while we were there so we did wear layers.  Mainly short t-shirts and pants (I could have worn cropped pants at certain points) and carrying a sweatshirt for the mornings and when it got dark.

We got 3-day shuttle passes because we were two miles away and at $24 total for both, it was way better than driving in and spending a minimum of $15 per day to park.  We’ve only ever drove in one trip and that’s when Anaheim started digging their nose in to getting some extra cash from us.  You know; because we don’t spend enough money on everything else…

We got on the shuttle close to 8 am which is when the parks opened and we arrived within just a few minutes.  Of course our space was the second to furthest space for shuttles… Go figure… But off we were towards the gates to the happiest place on earth!

So glad there were clear blue skies all three days in of our trip!

Untitled

We’re here!

Untitled

First glimpse of Christmas decor.

Untitled

The train was pulling up just as we got in the gate.

Untitled

This has to be one of the biggest Christmas trees I’ve ever seen! The one at Union Square in San Francisco is definitely bigger but this is huge and gorgeous!

Untitled

Lots of pretty decorations!

image

We grabbed a locker first and the machine ate my mom’s $5 so we had to walk back to City Hall to get reimbursed.  On our way I had to get a shot of the firehouse because no one was in front of it.

Untitled

The details are just one of the many reasons I love Disney.  They even put a little baby tree in the window where the lamp used to be during regular days at Disneyland.

Untitled

The line was really long for City Hall and I noticed Alice and the Mad Hatter playing with a little girl.  Cute!

Untitled

We quickly decided we didn’t want to wait in that long line and we ended up going later on that night.  Walking back down Main Street, we saw a couple of windows were decorated by the Carnation Cafe.

image

Cute gingerbread house.

image

Our first ride was on the Haunted Mansion Holiday. I was so excited to see the overlay. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I love how they designed everything.

Untitled

I took some bad iPhone pictures. I should have used my point and shoot!

Untitled

They placed a big gingerbread house in the ballroom and the room actually smelled like gingerbread!

Untitled

Overall I was a tad underwhelmed as I was thinking it would be a little more light-hearted but it was still fun to see and I’d go again.

Untitled

Managed to get another picture from the other side of the mansion.

Untitled

We didn’t really have plans of what to do and I had an app on my phone for wait times from TouringPlans.com. If you want a wait time app, I highly recommend this one.  I’ll go over it in more detail at another time, but back to the trip! We got fast passes for Indiana Jones and decided to go on the new overlay of Jungle Cruise called the Jingle Cruise.  It was really funny.  Probably because of the new jokes for Christmas. Sometimes it’s good to hear new jokes.

image

I don’t know if I’ve ever noticed this ticket booth before.

image

I want to get a straight on shot of this and frame it.  I don’t know why, I just really like it!

image

Of course, they did a great job of blending the decorations into the theme of the ride.

image

To the boats!

image

I actually love this idea for a tree, but with fake candles as I don’t want to burn the house down!

image

Another thing I haven’t noticed, although I rarely have to go upstairs in the queue.  Or maybe it was just laundry day, who knows…

image

Another cute little tree.

image

Nice view of the shops and Bengal Barbecue but the timing was bad because the shadows kind of make it hard to see.

image

Don’t quote me on this, but I think this tree is the oldest tree and only original in the park.  I know it’s in this area and I’m forgetting the details of it, but I’m pretty sure that’s the one.

image

They used tropical plants to decorate the tops of the boats.

image

Up next we went on Pirates because it was a five-minute wait and it wasn’t going to stay like that for long.

image

After that, we were able to get on Indy with our fast passes.

image

This ride has one of the best queues in the park.

image

After that, we wandered around for a little bit and headed in to Frontierland.

image

We decided to have lunch at Rancho del Zocalo.

image

We both ordered the special, Chicken Tamales.  I was disappointed. Not much meat and it wasn’t shredded like they usually are.  I like their soft tacos much better.  This is one of our favorite places to eat so don’t get me wrong when I wasn’t happy with the meal.

image

image

More decorations.

image

We walked up towards Fantasyland, past an area where they have activities for the kiddies and I believe Santa was over there. We didn’t go in and I wish we would have.  Maybe next time.

image

The White Rabbit wasn’t home… It’s a shame, I would have liked to have a spot of tea with him.

image

We decided to take a ride on Alice in Wonderland.

image

I have always loved this ride.

image

I love their use of color here too.

image

Which way do we go?!

image

Another nice view on the ride, but the shadow ruined the picture…

image

After that we went back to Adventureland so we could take a break off our feet and my mom could close her eyes in the Tiki Room.

image

I want a tiki room in my back yard.

image

image

This is one of my favorite attractions in the park.

image

image

image

image

We did a little more wandering around and ended up in the back of Fantasyland.

image

We were still tired so we took a ride (*cough 2 and 1/4 trips around *cough)

image

image

image

image

This isn’t even as bad as it got with crowds in the park!

image

We totally nodded off on that train! I don’t know why we were so tired!

image

image

image

image

image

We hopped off in Tomorrowland and went on Space Mountain which we had fast passes for I just don’t remember when we got them…

image

My favorite ride in the park!

image

Unfortunately, my mom got BAD motion sickness from the ride and she was pretty much done for the day.  We went on things that were easier for her from that point on.  She loved that ride but she just can’t do it anymore and I understand.  I felt bad for her!

We walked back out to Main Street and I had to stop and take a picture of the Matterhorn.  So beautiful!

image

Look at how pretty the castle is!!!

image

We hopped over to the other park because I was dying to see Cars Land!

image

I love the new look of Buena Vista Street.

image

Little gingerbread houses in one of the windows.

image

Next time I want to get a ride on the trolley.

image

Nice view of the Carthay Circle Theatre and the fountain.

image

The Fiddler, Fifer, and Practical Cafe which I found out is named after the Three Pigs. You learn something every day!

image

Yay for Cars Land!

image

A car snowman!

image

image

Fillmore’s is a snack stand.

image

Sarge’s is a store.

image

The cozy cone motel was adorable!

image

They really took great care to make this land look like the movie!

image

image

They did an amazing job with the Christmas theming here too.

image

Photo-op with a tractor.

image

Should have gotten a shot of myself. Oh well!

image

I couldn’t wait to get on this ride!

image

Same with this one! I love the Italian theme!

image

They had a string of lights around the tires outside of Casa Della Tires and a star on top!

image

Another photo-op area!  There were just way too many people!

image

Hubcaps adorn this tree.

image

Look at how beautiful Radiator Springs Racers is at night!

image

Wow!

image

Ramon’s shop.

image

We decided to eat at Flo’s V8 Cafe.  I heard some good things about this place.

image

You could sit outside or inside. It was a little cold out so we chose inside.

image

Motor Oil Christmas Tree.

image

50s themed tree.

image

I wish this was a real juke box.

image

They had three meat options, turkey with gravy, roast beef with gravy, and pork loin with a Coca Cola BBQ sauce and a choice of two sides and a role.  Since it was a couple of days before Thanksgiving and my mom and I wanted to try different things on the menu we decided to skip the turkey and get the pork and roast beef so we could try each other’s meals, I got the roast beef with coleslaw and this corn succotash type dish. The roast beef was really flavorful and the gravy was amazing.  The rolls were really good too.  The corn needed a little salt, but it was good, and the coleslaw was pretty good too.  My mom really liked it.  I want to say it had a bit of a honey mustard taste to it.

image

My mom got the pork loin with baked beans and mashed potatoes and gravy. The BBQ sauce was really good, but very sweet, so if you like sweet barbeque sauce (like I do) you’ll love it.  It does have Coca Cola in it after all. The beans had the same flavor as the BBQ sauce so it was a bit redundant to have both but both were very tasty.  The mashed potatoes were very good too.  They had the same gravy as my roast beef.

image

All in all I would absolutely go back.  They had a selection of desserts there too but we were pretty full and decided to have dessert later.

They had different themed rooms from what I could tell.  It was all fifties inspired though and it kind of brought me back to my childhood because my best friends and I loved that era.  We all dressed up like little 50s dancers with poodle skirts for Halloween one year and to this day, that was my favorite Halloween costume.

image

image

They had cacti outside of the window we were sitting by.

image

They had Hudson’s diploma’s on the wall.

image

image

Before heading out we had to get on our favorite ride in DCA, Soarin’ Over California.

image

The line was pretty short so we couldn’t pass it up.

image

I love this ride so much.  I love the music to it too.  I have the song as my ring tone when anyone calls.

image

I love the symbol.  I wish they had it as a pin.

image

Back to Disneyland.

image

The tree was gorgeous lit up at night.

image

I love the trees in all of the stores on Main Street.

image

My mom and I split (and only ate about 1/3 of it total) a hot fudge sunday at the Gibson Girl Ice Cream Parlor on Main Street.

image

We sat near a pretty Victorian tree.

image

And this, ladies and gentleman, is when I truly got just how magical Disneyland is at Christmas.

image

There are no words to describe its beauty. I was in absolute awe. Totally speechless.

image

The water wasn’t moving so my mom took a picture of the reflection of the castle on the lake.

image

image

The back of the castle (which is really the front of the castle).

image

Not too bad of a photo.  This was my very first ride in Disneyland when I was a baby. For that reason, the carousel will always have a special place in my heart.

image

We continued walking around to take in Disneyland at night-time.

image

We didn’t go on Small World as the lines are insane at night.

image

And this is the reason why.  Another speechless moment for me.

image

Disney never ceases to amaze me.

image

We exited through the store.

image

image

After that we decided to call it quits. It was a long day and we were really tired. My mom didn’t want to come in as early the next day so I decided to get up on my own and meet her in the park that morning.  So that ends the first day of our trip in Disneyland.  I hope you’re enjoying my trip report. I am pretty new with them and hope to get a little more organization as I get more under my belt.

Leave a Reply

