Disneyland Trip Report Part Three- Day Two of Disneyland

My mom was completely exhausted (frankly I wasn’t far off from it either) so I told her to sleep in a bit and I would meet her later in the park.  We did have the opportunity for an early entry that day however I just didn’t think I could get up early enough to get ready and be there before seven… I did get there just after opening so I didn’t miss much.

Before I got in I had to stop by and see my dad’s stone. I love how close it is to the entrance to the park.

image

The crowds were not too bad so I decided it would be a good time to take some pictures.

image

Another gorgeous day in the park!

image

This is the first time I noticed this bench in the town square area of Main Street just across the street from the train station.

image

I love the different facades of all of the stores on Main Street.

image

The color of the Penny Arcade goes very well with the Christmas decor.

image

image

I thought this was a fun view of the Hub.  The Matterhorn in the distance and the fire truck going around the bend.

image

Had to stop and say hi to Uncle Walt and Mickey!

image

I love this castle so much.  I know I haven’t been to Disney World and I’ve heard from plenty of people how once you see how massive Cinderella’s Castle is, Sleeping Beauty’s Castle will seem like a let down, but we’ll have to wait and see.  I don’t think I’ll ever love it any less than I do now.

image

Decided to walk the other way around and have a visit at Snow White’s Grotto.

image

Nice and quiet.

image

It’s quite peaceful over here and even on a crowded day, it doesn’t get a whole lot of foot traffic.

image

These statues were given to Walt Disney anonymously from someone in Italy in 1961.

image

image

I love the architecture of Fantasyland.

image

One of the remaining E-Ticket Booths in the park.

image

The line for Matterhorn wasn’t that long so I wanted to get a ride on before it was too late. It was my first time riding in the new cars.

image

Again, something I didn’t notice (Unless it’s new) are these cool “cabiny” (I am aware that is not a word) looking lamps.  They remind me of Lake Tahoe for some reason.

image

The new cars fit one to a seat now. Not sure if that’s an improvement or not.

image

The seats look roomy enough…

image

You can’t quite tell, but it was kind of a tight squeeze for my legs and I’m short! Well… I’m average for a woman but I can’t imagine someone taller than me being comfortable… And I totally just noticed the bag holder in this picture… I don’t know why I missed that when I was on the ride! Overall, it was just as bumpy as if I was riding in my own seat before they were single seats AND the seats themselves were much harder to sit on. Not the most comfortable ride in the park!

image

Eidleweiss Snacks wasn’t opened yet as it was still really early.  I haven’t eaten here yet, but they have some of the regular snack fair such as Chimichangas and Turkey legs in addition to Corn on the Cob.  So I need to get back there for the corn!

image

It was early enough that Small World had a really short line so I got on that too.

image

This is one of my favorite rides in Disneyland and I was so excited to see the overlay for Christmas. I heard it was amazing.

image

Looks a lot different in the morning than at night.

image

I like the color of the balls against the white of the wreath and garland.

image

The Christmas overlay blends in very well with the theming of Small World which did not come as a surprise to me at all.

image

image

I totally didn’t see the woman blowing the wind and snow until I saw this picture in the viewfinder of my camera.

image

Santa at the North Pole!

image

image

The area where this tree was smelled like candles.  A detail I wasn’t expecting.

image

This area smelled like candy from what I remember.

image

Italy

image

The Middle East

image

Asia

image

image

image

Mexico

image

image

Hawaii

image

You go through a little tunnel to get into the next room and right before you get into it you go through bubbles.

image

Dory and Nemo!

image

You can’t see it, but there is a little Elvis bobble head doll on the end of Lilo and Stitch’s surf board which goes up and down.  Tried to get a picture but it didn’t work out.  My mom’s friend told her about it.

image

I don’t think I’m the only one that is a little disappointed with the USA section of the ride.  It’s like they just half-assed it…

image

It’s just cowboys and indians type stuff and there is so much more to our country.

image

Now time for the finale room.

image

Christmas threw up in this room.

image

And I love it!!!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Overall I absolutely loved it.  Small World is one of my favorite rides and the Christmas overlay made me love it even more!  I had a smile on my face the whole time I was on the ride.  Completely amazing!

image

Toontown didn’t have many people in it so I decided to take some pictures there as we try to avoid it like the plague on most of our trips.  Despite it being primarily a children’s area, I love it. It reminds me of the Disney cartoons I watched growing up.  I like the lack of straight lines and hard edges.

image

They decorated for Christmas too!

image

This land cracks me up.  There are so many little things to do and see.  Like answering a phone and hearing a conversation on the other side or opening a door that shocks you!

image

image

There is a lot of goofy (no pun intended) humor.

image

The GAG Factory is a great store that I don’t think many people know about.  It’s located in the back right corner to the left of Roger Rabbit’s cartoon spin.

image

This is a great photo-op area.

image

Goofy’s house.

image

Mickey’s house behind the Mickey Mouse water fountain.

image

Minnie’s house.

image

This snack stand reminded me of the old Disney cartoon where Mickey, Goofy, and Donald went on a trip with a motor home that kept falling apart.

image

I was going to take a trip on Autopia but the line was super long and my mom called saying she was getting off the shuttle so I headed back to the entrance to meet her.

image

We attempted to get a fast pass for Radiator Springs but they were already sold out.  It wasn’t even ten in the morning! The lines for the other two rides in Cars Land weren’t too bad so we took advantage of that.

image

Looks different in the daytime, not in a bad way, just different.

image

We went on Mater’s Junkyard Jamboree first.

image

The queue looks just like a junkyard.

image

image

image

image

The ride has two loading areas and you go around four circles in sort of a figure-8 and as the tractors go around the circles the back-end whips you back and forth.

image

It was a lot of fun!

image

We strolled through the Cozy Cone Motel area.

image

Everything is orange.

image

It is so cute!  Each cone serves different foods.  We didn’t get anything to eat but maybe next time I’ll try it.

image

The umbrellas are even cones which I realized the next time I watched Cars (I watch it every time my nephew, Nicky, comes over because it’s all he wants to watch!

image

It’s so cute! I would want to stay here if I were on a road trip!

image

Literally just like the movie.  I can’t get over it!

image

Mater was greeting people.  The cars actually talk and I can’t remember how they work that out.

image

Cone Christmas Tree.

image

Route 66 Christmas Tree next to the Route 66 Store.

image

Up next was Luigi’s Flying Tires. I got the biggest kick out of this ride.

image

Once you get inside, you hear old Italian music like Dean Martin.  My dad would have LOVED this queue.

image

I texted a picture of this to my brother and he thought it was really funny.

image

image

image

Trash cans.  Only Disney fans with understand the significance!

image

I think the tires are wrapped to look like blocks of cheese but I could be wrong…

image

Luigi only follow the Ferrari!

image

image

image

Olive Oil joke.

image

Italian everything!  It reminds me of an Italian festival.

image

Race car topiary.

image

Lots and lots of Italian flags.

image

You have to lean in the direction you want the tires to go.

image

image

My mom’s “don’t take my picture,” picture. Had to add as proof I wasn’t there alone!

image

They are big and roomy and the vents on the ground are what make you float.  It feels quite windy when you’re on the ride. It’s pretty fun and I’d go on it again.

image

We walked around the board walk to try to figure out what we were going to do for lunch.

image

image

I should have taken a picture with Duffy, there wasn’t a line!!!

image

Another Christmas Tree.

image

The line for Soarin’ was super short so we took advantage.

image

They added the characters from Planes to the video.

image

My hometown! (well not entirely but close enough!)

image

Napa!

image

Tahoe!

image

Haven’t been to Yosemite in years.  We need to take a trip back.

image

We decided to head back to Disneyland and get a hot dog for lunch.

The streets were crowded so we cut through some of the shops.

image

After a quick lunch, we went on Pirate’s.

image

I want one of those santas in the trees! Small enough to hang on my own tree.

image

Didn’t go up in the tree either.

image

The Disney Dream Suite.

image

The light poles were decorated with masques and other New Orleans decorations.

image

Each building had different decorations.

image

image

I have no idea what those people were doing on that balcony.

image

Gigantic mask.

image

image

Finally got inside.

image

I haven’t eaten at the Blue Bayou in a few years because our last meal wasn’t the greatest. Maybe another time because I miss the ambiance.

image

image

image

image

We walked around a few of the shops and I got a really cute scarf I’ll show in my souvenirs post after the rest of the trip report.

image

I love the shops in New Orleans.  They have stuff here they don’t have anywhere else.

image

image

Nightmare Before Christmas Store.

image

image

Walked back by the Golden Horseshoe Saloon.  They are ending Billy Hill and the Hillbillies. I hope they put something in here!

image

We walked back to get in line for Matterhorn. The line was long but we didn’t care.  My mom didn’t get to go on and the line was only going to get longer.

image

Mine! Mine! Mine!

image

image

image

We walked back to Small World so my mom could see it.  I wanted to go on another ten times but we went twice.

image

image

I also go Minnie Ears.  There is holly on the right side but you can hardly tell. It’s kind of behind the bow.  There’s a peak at my new scarf too.

image

Can’t get over the candle smell!

image

Africa is my favorite room.  Never could get a good picture but this isn’t bad.

image

image

The reindeer made an appearance!

image

Santa and his reindeer riding over the arch.

image

Woody, Jessie, and Bullseye.  See, not much thought went into this room…

image

Bear and a penguin!

image

We took a ride on the Monorail to go have dinner in Downtown Disney.

image

The line wasn’t too long.  This is a great place for a photograph.  The time of day wasn’t great for my camera though…

image

We decided to eat at Naples Restaurant.

image

Food wasn’t as good as it was before.

image

We got the world’s best snow cones at the Jazz Kitchen Express. My mom got cherry and grape and I got coconut.  Hence the lack of color. It’s like eating snow!

image

Back on the Matterhorn.

image

Back by the Golden Horseshoe.

image

Got ripped off by Shrunken Ned.

image

Didn’t even get a card…

image

Sat for a minute deciding what to do.

image

We were both tired and decided to take a quick ride on Captain EO because God know’s how much longer it will be there.

image

Then decided to call it quits and head back to the room. More fun with this camera app.

image

I love Disneyland at night.  It’s so magical!

image

The tree is gorgeous lit up.

image

And that ended our second day at the parks.

image

We got to bed as soon as we got back to the room.  We wanted to run straight into California Adventure to get fast passes for Radiator Springs Racers first thing and we were meeting my cousins who were spending Wednesday and Thanksgiving Day at the parks.

That’s day 2 for Disneyland. I hope you’re enjoying my trip reports. Stay tuned for our last day in Disneyland, then Thanksgiving weekend in Fresno!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Disneyland Trip Report Part Three- Day Two of Disneyland

Leave a Reply

