Disneyland Trip Report Part Four- Day Three of Disneyland

Wednesday was our last day at Disneyland and we spent half the day with my cousins who happened to be there at the same time.

We started first thing going into DCA to get fast passes for Radiator Springs Racers.  The line was all the way into Hollywood Land but we managed to get passes for the late afternoon.

image

As that was our only errand to run in DCA, we went right back to Disneyland.

image

And walked through the tunnels into Main Street.

image

image

I wanted to take a look at the newly renovated Market House which is now a Starbucks… I’m not a big fan and miss the old Market House, but what can you do???

image

They have a mixture of Starbucks and Disneyland foods to choose from, and all of the drinks you can get at any old Starbucks.

image

To the left of the ordering area, they have a little library looking area set up with tables and chairs.  It’s much quieter than the rest of the store.

image

I’m so glad they kept the pot-bellied stove and checkerboard.  My dad and grandfather used to play checkers on that board back when my dad was a kid.

image

A view of where we were sitting in the library area.  It was a lot busier than it looks.

image

They had (not surprising) Christmasy decor that melded with the decor of the store itself.

image

I like the idea of oranges on a tree like this.  Maybe with cloves stuck in them like my aunt does.  She would stud oranges all over with whole cloves then roll them in Cinnamon and they smelled really good! Totally reminds me of Christmas.

image

I just got black tea.  (Yea… It was as light and weak as it looks…)

image

And this breakfast sandwich that Starbucks sells I actually love.  It’s the Bacon Artisan Breakfast sandwich with gouda cheese on ciabatta bread.  Very filling and stays with you for a good amount of time because of the protein.

image

Our first ride was on Storybook which we missed the last 1 or 2 times at the parks since it isn’t my brother’s favorite.  The line was only going to get worse and my cousins weren’t there yet so we took advantage!

Fun fact that most Disney geeks know is that this is one of the remaining old ticket booths from when they had E-Tickets. The remaining ticket booths are used for decorative purposes around the parks.

image

image

image

We didn’t go on Casey Jr. which I would have liked to go on as well, but the parks were just too busy to go on everything we wanted to go on.

image

And off we were going through Monstro’s mouth and into Storybook.

image

I’m not going to be able to tell you each character’s house that I’m showing but I’ll name the ones I know…  This is Pinnocchio’s village.

image

I want to say it belongs to the Mole from Mr. Toad which I haven’t seen and I feel like a bad Disney fan for not having seen it…

image

This is the town where Alice lives.

image

Her home is off to the right and the rabbit hole she fell down into is in front.

image

Of course, who couldn’t recognize Agrabah where Alladin and Jasmine live.

image

And the mountaintop where Cincerella lives.

image

Looks like her carriage turned back into a pumpkin…

image

I want to say the Seven Dwarves’ cottage but I really don’t know.  I just love that they decorated for Christmas!  So adorable!

image

The famous “Giant” Patchwork Quilt.

image

Toad Hall.  I never saw the film… Not my favorite ride in the park but it does have quite the following.

image

Back around to Pinocchio’s Village. If I could live in any of the animated movie’s towns, I’d live here.

image

And ending by Ariel and Prince Eric’s castle.

image

We got a call from my cousins that they were in line in Tomorrowland for Star Tours so we took our time waking towards Tomorrowland.

image

image

If you don’t know me from my other blog, I like taking photos of flowers…

image

Walked past the old Fantasyland entrance/exit for Skyway.  Even though I don’t like heights anymore, I miss that ride.

image

I missed the reindeer antlers on the rooftop in Frontierland (I’m sure it’s a Christmas thing).  You can spend a lifetime in Disneyland and still miss some of the details!

image

They were hungry so we went to Redd Rockett’s Pizza Port for a snack.  We weren’t hungry so we just sat with them.

image

If you haven’t eaten here, the food is okay.  Not horrible but nothing to write home about.  They have a few different pizzas which have a very thick crust, a couple of pasta dishes, salads and bread sticks.  Not the best and not the worst place to eat in the parks.

image

image

I have a lot of memories of eating in this area when I was a kid before it was Redd Rockett’s

image

It still looks like the 80’s to me and having Captain EO there doesn’t hurt either.

image

image

After they ate, we grabbed fast passes for Indiana Jones.

image

The line for Pirate’s was short so we went on that.

image

image

My whole life I’ve been trying to get a picture of this and while it’s still not great, I’m getting better at it.

image

Not bad of the auction scene either.

image

Another famous scene, they’ve been trying to get the keys from that dog for 40 years. (Something my dad would totally say!)

image

Back to Laffite’s Landing and on to another adventure!

image

By that time, my mom and I were hungry so we went off to grab something to eat while they went on Haunted Mansion.

image

My mom wanted to try the Lobster Roll at the Harbor Galley. They also have soup and a couple of other sea food dishes.

image

We took the back way to get to the Hungry Bear Restaurant that not many people know about.  My mom even thought we weren’t supposed to be back here.

image

It’s like a secret passage way!

image

Great photo ops too!

image

image

I was craving a crappy burger and that’s exactly what I got!

image

The food here isn’t the greatest but the ambiance is amazing and you can get a great view of the river.

image

It’s a counter service restaurant.  You first order your food and pay for it.

image

Then move forward to pick your food up.

image

We managed to get a table by the water.

image

THe lobster roll looks good but my mom said it was terrible.  She said it tastes like canned lobster and we’re kind of food snobs and she paid a lot for it and if you’re going to pay a $13 for a lobster roll, I would hope they’d put some fresh lobster in it.  But, alas, we are on the west coast and it’s harder to find over here…  The chips were homemade and had old bay seasonings on them . Those were pretty good.

image

As I said, it’s not much of a burger, but I like it.  Probably because it reminds me of being a kid in Disneyland. The fries were good too.  They have a condiments area where you can get ketchup, mustard, and other stuff for your burger.

image

It’s fun watching the different boats going by.  Here’s the Mark Twain River Boat.

image

The canoes which we did once.  Just once… You get a little wet if you have an idiot in front of you that likes to splash people and your arms are sore the next day…  I already walk enough while I’m here, I don’t need the added exercise! 🙂

image

Then came the Columbia.

image

They have additional seating downstairs as well as a restroom which we used before meeting back with my cousins.

image

The entrance to the Pooh ride and the old entrance to The Country Bear Jamboree.  I miss that show!!!

image

Splash mountain.  One of my favorite rides that I never get to go on…

image

We still had time until we could use our tickets for Indy so we went on the Jingle Cruise.

image

It’s amazing to me that they have details in places you don’t see very often.  I rarely have to go upstairs in the queue for Jungle Cruise so it was neat to see.

image

And a unique view of Adventureland.

image

The lone mechanical bird watching people go up and down the stairs.

image

This is the old Tahitian Terrace that my dad LOVED.  It was a luau restaurant with a Tahitian show.  The food was really good from what my parents told me.  I vaguely remember the place myself.  But I totally think they should put something similar back into that area because not much happens over there.

image

Fragile! Must be French!  Sorry, I couldn’t help myself!

image

image

Never noticed the chair with the fishing pole…

image

Same with this sign!

image

Our skipper was funny.  He kept picking on my cousin’s daughter and her friend who sat at the front.

image

image

image

image

Yet another thing I never noticed before…

image

image

Still had time on our hands so we got in line on the attraction side (while was busy too but not as bad as the other side) so they could get dole whips and I got a pineapple spear and a souvenir mug that I’ll show in my wrap up post…

image

The outdoor show was going on while we were in line.

image

image

image

After that, we got on Indiana Jones, then the girls split to do their own thing and we were off to DCA so they could ride some rides over there and we could use our fast passes for Radiator Springs.

image

Again, we had a little time before we needed to be there and the line was only 20 minutes long so we went on Soarin’.  My absolutely favorite ride in DCA.

image

Off to Radiator Springs!!!

image

I don’t want to know how long the line was.  I don’t think I saw it shorter than 2 hours!

image

Yay!

image

I love the rocky mountains!

image

image

A car shaped rock fountain.

image

The entrance was under part of the rocks.

image

The seating was 6 to a car.  3 in each row.

image

We got a red car!

image

I was the driver! They have seat belts like they do in normal cars but the middle seats just had the lap covers.

image

There wasn’t anything to grab on to in the front.  I don’t know about the back.  I just had that one handle you see but it didn’t help much when I needed it.

image

You start off by driving along the area before getting prepared for the big race.

image

image

The views were lovely!

image

Then it turns into the dark ride portion and you’re scrambling to get to the race. You get pep talks from the characters.

image

Mater is right by your side too!

image

image

image

You get a pain refresh from Ramone.

image

And a final pep talk from Doc.

image

Luigi and Guido are cheering you on!  Even though they only follow the Ferrari’s!

image

After seeing Luigi and Guido, you race another car and there were a few dips, hence needing something to grab on to so I ended up screaming bloody murder to keep my stomach from doing somersaults.  I think we lost from what my mom said.  I was too busy trying not to let my stomach flip.

image

See me screaming?!  What a dork!  I was white knuckling the side of the car! I felt bad for the girl in our row! Well really for the everyone in the car! Actually, I wasn’t that bad, at least I tried not to be.

image

image

Overall, this was a great ride. I loved it!  Soarin is still my favorite, but this is definitely second in line!

image

image

image

As I’m sure I mentioned (and it’s not surprising at all) everything is car themed right down to the flowers in the “flower pots.”

image

We walked through some of the shops and I was tempted to get a ton of stuff for my nephew.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Tower of Terror looks really beautiful when the sun is hitting it just right.

image

I wanted to walk through Bug’s land and my mom indulged me!

image

Sassy Francis is Sassy!

image

Just like with Car’s Land, everything is bug related.  It’s made to make you feel like a tiny bug too!

image

Even the benches were old popsicle sticks.

image

image

They had christmas lights up too.

image

Some lantern lights as well.  It gets pretty dark in here at night.

image

Again, my mother indulged me by going on Heimlich’s Chew-Chew Train. We were the only set of adults in line…  Don’t judge me!

image

Here comes Heimlich!

image

You travel along and see all of the things he’s eating which are all his favorite foods.

image

image

The first thing I smelled was the watermelon.  I don’t think the beginning of the ride had smell.

image

You could smell the animal crackers too!

image

I used to love animal crackers!

image

The cupcake smelled too!

image

As did the candy corn which is his ultimate favorite food!

image

We didn’t go on anything else, but it’s really cute for the kiddies.

image

The entrance to Flick’s Fun Fair. The santa is supposed to be an eraser head on a pencil.

image

And a candy cane!

image

We were supposed to meet up with my cousins but they were going to eat at Joe’s Crab Shack which is down where we’re staying and we wanted to eat somewhere on the resort for our last night.

We walked through the Disney Gallery area by Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln.

image

I think this was an actual horse from a carousel in a park he used to bring his daughter’s to but don’t quote me on that.

image

In honor of The Tiki Room’s 50th Anniversary, they had a lot of Tiki Room artwork around the gallery.

image

image

image

image

image

They had an old map of Disneyland the way it looked in 1955.

image

image

We wanted to try the Barbecue restaurant in Frontierland but we found out while in line that they only had seating for reserved guests and if we could find someone who was okay with sharing with us, we could sit there and we didn’t want to do that…

image

We’ll have to try it next time.

image

We were ticked though because we were starving and tired and just wanted to sit down and eat.  And they didn’t tell us until about 10 minutes after waiting in line…

imageI called the Storybook Cafe and they had over an hour wait and I tried Ralph Brennen’s by chance and they had space so I put my name down and we ran over there.

image

We were glad that’s where we ended up going.  They are very friendly here and the food is amazing.

image

They have paper on the tables so we played some Disney inspired hangman.

image

We split the soup 111 which is a sample of their gumbo, corn chowder and soup of the day which was sweet potato and andouille sausage.  They even split it into our own little bowls.  They were amazing!

image

They had the Thanksgiving menu available that day as well (it was the day before anyway)  and I ended up having the pecan crusted Mahi-Mahi which was the first time I had Mahi-Mahi and I liked it a lot.  They had these “candied” sweet potatoes that tasted more like roasted and they were delicious!

image

My mom had the filet mignon medallions with mashed potatoes and that was AMAZING! The food was SO good!!!

image

We pre-ordered their famous chocolate bread pudding.  This is one of the best desserts I have ever had!  It’s like a chocolate soufflé with dark and white chocolate sauces poured in the middle.  Oh my sweet Lord!!! If you’ve never been and don’t mind splurging on a meal, go here!  You HAVE to!!

image

We were going to try to do some shopping around Disneyland before leaving and got a chance to see the fireworks so we did that.

image

image

image

image

image

I love that this picture came out poking like a christmas tree!

image

The end of the show leaves you with snow!  It’s not real snow, more like little fluffs of foam but it was pretty cool!

image

Overall, the fireworks were amazing, but my favorite will alway be the 50th Anniversary ones.  I have the music to it and still tear up listening to it.

image

It was insanely busy and took forever to get anywhere especially with people walking in front of us.  It was really ticking us off!  We finally parked the scooter by the side entrance to the Emporium and walked through some of the stores.

image

image

image

I got almost everything I had my eye on except for a calendar that had attraction posters and you could tear them off and frame them.  They had some left at the World of Disney store in Downtown Disney so I ran over there to grab it and did a little more looking over there before we headed back to our room for the night.

image

I took some pictures of books I wanted to check out and this one in particular caught my interest.  I’ll have to look into it.

image

This shirt cracked me up! Unfortunately, I don’t know any single men to get it for.

image

After that, I took the tear filled ride back to our room and reluctantly went to bed.  I got a lot of stuff packed the night before so we could head to Fresno at a decent time.  Overall, and despite the crowds, we had a nice time in Disneyland.  I would LOVE to go back at Christmas time just pick a different week.  It looks like the first two weeks in December are prefect if you want to go for the Christmas overlay. Up next will be the Fresno leg of our trip and after that, I’ll show all of the stuff I got.

Leave a Reply

