What to Do When You Need a Disney Fix

I have my moments when I just miss Disneyland in the worst way and I have found these ways to be helpful to get through withdrawals until my next visit to a Disney park. I am working on a more detailed static page of blogs, books, podcasts, websites, etc that I enjoy but for now here are some ideas for you to get your Disney fix.

Blogs – I read a lot of blogs and I have my own little section of Disney blogs on Bloglovin and here are a few that are my favorites. Of course, you can start one too like I did.  There are plenty of them out there and I’m finding new blogs everyday (well, new to me).  You can find pretty much any Disney sub topic out there and even Disney has a blog over at Disney Parks Blog which has news from all of the Disney parks and if you’d like to view a specific park, they have filters at the bottom of each post so you can only see parks at the Disneyland Resort, or Epcot Center, or whatever you want to look for. It’s probably the best place to go for Disney news since it is coming from the source.

Podcasts – If you don’t know what a podcast is, it’s a free audio or video show you can download either through iTunes or other podcast hosting websites.  There are a lot of podcasts and the best thing is that they are free.  I subscribe to a lot of podcasts and at least 1/2 of what I listen to is Disney related. You can find just about any subject you’re looking for in a podcast.  One podcast in particular that got me into the whole podcast world is Window to the Magic.  Their show mainly consists of audio from being in the Disneyland park (more recently adding Disney World into the mix) and you truly feel like you’re there. It’s probably the closest feeling to being in the park. They have a side project that’s 2 seasons in now called WTTM24 where they recorded the whole day they spend in the park.  They had 2 people with recording devises on and they would split up into 2 groups at times so you could hear one 1/2 in one ear and the other 1/2 in the other ear.  I know it sounds odd and you have to use earphones but it’s awesome.  So far they have done two trips and it seems to be pretty exhausting but they are so fun to listen to.  They broke up the seasons into hour long episodes so it’s not one big 12 hour + long file.

Youtube – You can spend a lifetime on Youtube looking at fan made Disney park videos.  There are a couple of Disneyland Channels I watch but I don’t know of a whole lot of them (I’m sure there are more than I know of) and you can find plenty of ride-throughs of your favorite rides or watch a whole walk-through of your favorite park (yes, a WHOLE walk-through, but plan on sitting there or an hour…).

Books – There are thousands of Disney books of all different Disney related subjects out there. I have an extensive list of books that I want to start reading and I know that I have mentioned wanting to read one Disney book per month but the year has been going faster than my brain is so I have some catching up to do.

Music – Thanks to the technological age we live in, it’s a lot easier to access Disney music whether it’s park specific or from Disney movies, you can find a lot on iTunes and I’m sure other music sites out there.  I have a ton of Disney/Disneyland Resort music that I’ve collected throughout the years and I have a special playlist of my favorite Disney songs that I’ll play on the regular.

Disney Movies – I’m sure I don’t need to mention that I have a very large assortment of Disney movies.  I’ve watched Frozen 3 or 4 times now and it came out on DVD/BluRay in February… And I’m sure I’m not the only one.  Chances are, if you reading this anyway, you have a lot of Disney movies too.  This is probably the easiest Disney fix you can get.  I practically cry when I put a DVD in and see the castle and hear When you Wish Upon a Star when it first starts.  It gets me every time.

Join a Disney Club – If you’re as lucky as I am to live close enough to a Disneyana Charter group or other Disney club, join it! I promise you they are a blast.  At least my group is.  We have so much fun together and it was the best decision I’ve ever made.  I was terrified going in because I didn’t know anyone but I got to know people and now have a large group of Disney friends that get me.  I went to see Maleficent with my Disney club Saturday morning and we all dressed up in black and purple for the “theme colors” of Maleficent (blog post of that day with a review coming up in the next day or two).  If you don’t know where to find one, I found mine on Meetup.  That’s a great way to find a lot of local groups/clubs in your area.  Also, you might find some by googling your location with the word Disney club or something like that.  If there aren’t any and you have some fellow Disney friends, think about starting one.

Look at Past Disney Trip Pictures – Or if you’re creative, work on albums, whether they are prints you put in photo album, making one with a website like Shutterfly (or if you have a Mac, using iPhoto), or making a scrapbook or whatever, it’s a fun way to look back on trips with your family and relive the memories.

There are countless other things you can do but those are some pretty big ones I’ve listed.  You can also check out Pinterest, some pages on Facebook, and plenty of other things to get your Disney fix.  I hope this helped, and I’m working on that list to get up as soon as possible!

If you have any ideas, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know!  If you have any suggestions, requests, or questions please comment below too. I’d love to hear your feedback and get ideas for future posts.  I want to get consistent on writing on this blog!

Leave a Reply

