Day Trip to Disneyland!

As I mentioned in my last very quick post, I spent a day at Disneyland when I went to visit my cousin in LA.  We had a great time and I am seriously crossing my fingers right now that we get the opportunity to go back next year for the 60th Anniversary, also because I’m having withdrawals right now.  It’s really hard to only go one day to Disneyland when you don’t live close by and you love it as much as us fellow Disney Addicts do!

So onto the trip report!

It took us about an hour to actually get to Anaheim from Santa Monica and another 30 to get through the line to pay to park in the parking structure.  If you haven’t seen Disneyland’s parking structure, it’s huge!  I want to say the biggest in the world and at the very least, biggest in the US. Anyway I haven’t had to park at Disneyland since I was a kid (we’ve done it maybe 2 or 3 times in my life since we always stay somewhere with a shuttle) so this was a new experience for me.

Untitled

FYI- Not that I want to dwell on the negative of the day, but the Suburban in the bottom right corner is a big fat jerk.  Just sayin’.

Untitled

We parked on the second level which is Daisy’s level (each level is named after a Disney character so it’s easier to remember where you parked (remember, HUGE).  I took a picture of our section so we could remember where we were.  It’s a good thing too because we were practically on the opposite side of the escalators that go down to the loading area for the trams. The structure is pretty cool and very well organized which Disney obviously has to be.  They have one escalator for each level so you don’t have to hit each floor if you are parked several stories up.

Untitled

We managed to get on the second tram when we were in line so the wait wasn’t too long.

Untitled

The tram drops you off at the Esplanade end of Downtown Disney.

Untitled

We got into one of the entrance lines to get into Disneyland.  All of them were pretty long which is typical for the morning.  I did manage to find a Hidden Mickey in the roses climbing up the poles for the Monorail while we were in line.  Not sure if they do this on purpose but I would be surprised if it was an accident.

Untitled

Finally, we got inside.  After the long drive, some of us needed to use the restroom so we went in the right side (which is my tradition anyway) so we could stop at the restroom down the alley by the Disney Gallery.

Untitled

After the potty break, my cousin, Erin, wanted to get some ears.  She, like me, doesn’t like the hats so she went with one of the headbands.  I have the green and red Christmas version of the ones she picked out but since I was Disneybounding, I figured it wouldn’t work with the outfit.  Can you figure out below what I’m Disneybounding as below? I’ll answer later in the post.  It’s pretty obvious when you see the colors and the stripes on my shirt…

After getting Erin’s ears, we went into Tomorrowland to look at the line times for Space Mountain and Star Tours (Erin’s last visit to Disneyland was when we went in 2008 so she hadn’t seen the upgrade yet) and since both were long ( and my motion sickness would have gotten the better of me without food in my stomach) we decided to get fast passes for Star Tours then get fastpasses for Space Mountain later when we could get more.  Since we didn’t eat breakfast and we were in the area.  We decided a Churro was a good choice! And yes, this is me photo bombing Erin!

Untitled

After our healthy breakfast, we decided to hop on the Matterhorn Bobsleds.  I’m really sad that it’s just such an uncomfortable ride! They should have made the seats softer… I did sit in the middle seat this time and it was a little more comfortable because it was a tighter fit so I wasnt’ bouncing around as much.  And I do want to say, I’m 5′ 4″ and it had a hard time with fitting into the seat so I can’t imagine how hard it is for someone with longer legs than me!

Untitled

While waiting in line I noticed this wooden railing which I didn’t recognize before. I wonder if it’s new… I definitely like it though!

Untitled

“Remain seated please. Permanecer sentados por favor.”

Untitled

I’ve always loved the style of this ride.  I like the ambiance of it.  Of course, I am 1/4 Swiss Italian so I wonder if that has something to do with it.

Untitled

We had to get a selfie in at some point!

Untitled

Here’s a closer picture of that railing, and the little pathway I didn’t notice in line, or the lanterns.  Super cute! I would love to have that kind of ambiance in my non-existent back yard in my non-existent house…

Untitled

Up next since we were in the area was It’s a Small World.  This is definitely my favorite Holiday overlay in Disneyland.  I really love this ride.

Untitled

We had to get my beautiful mom in there at some point! Are you getting warmer on what I Disneybounded as? As I said, it should be pretty obvious.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Brrrr!Untitled

Santa’s checking his naughty and nice list. Untitled

Untitled

I can’t get over the smell of candles in this area.  I don’t think I’d be able to handle it very long as I get a big fat headache with synthetic scents but this one didnt’ bother me.Untitled

Untitled

Italy another part of my heritage.Untitled

China.Untitled

Africa.  I love this scene.  It’s always been one of my favorites.  I love that happy hippo! Untitled

Pretty sure this is a new addition to the Mexico scene.Untitled

I love that Ariel decorates with bubbles!  Untitled

In the Hawaiian scene, at least at Christmas, I’ll have to look next time I go during the regular season, there is an Elivs bobblehead doll on the end of Lilo and Stitch’s surfboard.  It’s really hard to get a picture of as it moves up and down fast like it’s riding the wave but you can just make out something right infront of Stitch… Can you see it?

Untitled

Untitled

I, like many Disney fans, am slightly disappointed in the US scene.  It just feels a little rushed to me…Untitled

Woody, Jessy, and Bullseye make an appearance.Untitled

There goes Santa and his reindeer. Untitled

Lastly you enter the big room with all of the countries.  It’s like Christmas threw up in here and I LOVE it! Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I would totally buy an ornament that looked like this Peace on Earth sign.  Get on it, Disney!Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

By the time we got off of It’s a Small World, it was time to head back to use our Fastpasses at Star Tours, but first I stopped to get some ears and just happened to find some to match my outfit, then we got Fastpasses for Space Mountain so we didnt’ have to hit that too late. I was also sad because they took Captain EO out of that theatre and put a temporary preview of Big Hero 6 in there… Which I saw by the way and it was amazing!

Untitled

C3PO reminds me of myself. I worry over everything! Oh and totally off topic, I saw the teaser trailer for the new Star Wars movie and although I’m not a HUGE fan of Star Wars (I enjoy it) I am really excited to see it!

Untitled

We miss you, Rex! Untitled

Untitled

After our ride, we decided we were all hungry and after looking at the choices and we all settled on the Stage Door Cafe which I have never eaten at before so it was a new experience or me. We did have to stop and snap some pictures of the castle since we were walking by it. Untitled

Okay, if you haven’t figured it out, I’m Disneybounding as the Cheshire Cat.  I got that top in the clearance section of my local Torrid store and knew I had to get it.  It is perfect for the Cheshire Cat! And the ears I got after we rode Small World.

Untitled

Untitled

After lunch, we needed another potty break and the closest one I could think of was in Adventureland so we hightailed it over there.Untitled

Untitled

While waiting outside, I took advantage of taking a couple of pictures of the details. I love the details.  Everywhere you go, everything fits together so well.

Untitled

Untitled

Okay, now since we were close by and it was closed for a refurb last time we were there, we had to go on Big Thunder. The line was about the length it always is but luckily it moves pretty fast so we got through fairly quickly.

Untitled

The train went right over our heads. Untitled

My dad always seemed to favor Frontierland.  Maybe since he was a child of the 50s and the western cowboy stuff was popular then.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Every time I’m in line I try to get a picture of the train going across the tracks at this spot and usually I’m too late.  This time I was a hair too early. At least I was closer!

Untitled

Untitled

Finally on the ride!Untitled

Untitled

I managed to get the turtles but not without my mom’s elbow in the picture too! Oh well.Untitled

It was a perfectly sunny day so I got some great pictures on this ride!

Untitled

And I finally got a picture of the goat! You’re moving pretty fast here, especially from the back so you have to get lucky, and I did.

Untitled

They added some red flaming lanterns to the last climb on the ride.  And where they used to have just rocks moving back and forth, they actually make it look like an explosion is happening.  Pretty cool addition to the ride. Untitled

It’s better in video but as you can see there’s more to it now.

Untitled

My dad loved that they kept the little town.

Untitled

We were just about at a point when we could get new fast passes so we headed over to Adventureland to get fastpasses for Indiana Jones.  It wasn’t quite time yet so we decided to go on the Jingle Cruise while we waited.

Untitled

I really want to frame this and hang it.  I love the colors.

Untitled

Like last year, they had the queue decorated for the holidays.

Untitled

They did add to the ride though and I heard this opinion from someone else too, but I wasn’t crazy about it. I mean here it looks okay but maybe we didn’t like it because our Skipper sucked… I mean, it was bad.  And too many jokes about fruitcake…

Untitled

See, here’s a gist of why there’s a bunch of Christmas stuff thrown all over the jungle.  Untitled

I do like this candle “tree”. Untitled

The line was long enough to have to go upstairs but it just seemed slower than normal.  It was definitely longer than we expected.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I was “lucky” enough to have to sit in the middle so I didn’t get a lot of great pictures but I wanted to give you a gist of what they added to the ride from last year. So, the elephants got into the ornaments apparently.Untitled

I know, it’s blurry, but he’s so happy and festive! Untitled

The chimps got into the baking supplies.Untitled

More ornaments. Untitled

These guys are trying to decorate the pole. Untitled

The natives got into the Christmas sweaters.

Untitled

It was a very unimpressive ride on the Jingle Cruise.  I mean, it was probably the worse we’ve been on.  Our skipper was 0% funny.  I laugh a lot and I didn’t laugh at this one… I felt bad for her… Anyway, after that ride, we got our fastpasses for Indiana Jones, then did a little shopping in New Orleans Square before getting in line for Pirates of the Carribean.

Untitled

UntitledUntitledUntitled

Untitled

The line was super long but it moved fast. I was able to get some pictures of New Orleans Square at least.  I love their Christmas Decorations.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Close up of my ears.  They didn’t Cheshire Cat ears but these worked and I would wear them again at the parks anyway.

Untitled

Finally got on the ride.  I really need a good camera for nighttime photos so I can get some better pictures on the darker rides.  Still, my phone didn’t do so bad!  Better than my point and shoot does.

Untitled

Untitled

The skull and cross bones on the headboard above the skeleton in the bed are real human bones… Yea… Creepy…

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

These are probably some of the best pictures I’ve gotten on this ride.  To be fair, we were stopped at this point waiting for the boats ahead of us to go up to the ground level. Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

We were in need of a rest so we headed to our favorite place to do so.  The Tiki Room!  My parents always took a nap in there to get them through the day.  How they slept through the noise, I’ll never know but it was just enough time for them.  We would rush to the booths in along the walls (which never get filled anyway) so we can lay back and rest.

UntitledUntitledUntitledI love the waiting area for the Tiki Room and the little show they put on to keep people occupied.

UntitledUntitledUntitled

UntitledUntitled

Untitled

UntitledUntitled

Untitled

Untitled

After our rest, it was time to go on Space Mountain because we had to take the Monorail over to Downtown Disney for our reservations at Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Then we got in line for the Monorail to get to the Jazz Kitchen.Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I love this view of Tomorrowland from our seat on the Monorail.

Untitled

Untitled

 

If you want to splurge at a restaurant in Downtown Disney, I highly recommend Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen.  The food is SOOOOO good!UntitledThey also have an express next door to get Beniets and a few other dishes.  They have the best snow cones there too.  Softest ice I’ve ever had!

 

Untitled

 

I ordered their salad (not pictured because I was starving!) and the steak medallions with crawfish mashed potatoes and green beans.  AMAZING!Untitled

 

We got their chocolate bread pudding soufflé again not pictured but you HAVE to get it! When we were done with dinner, we decided to walk off some of the over eating we did and walked back to the main entrance to Disneyland.
Untitled

Untitled

 

Night time is the best thing about Disneyland at Christmas!Untitled

Untitled

 

I love the castle at night!  Especially at Christmas!
Untitled

It was time for our fast passes for Indy.Untitled

Our final ride of the night was The Haunted Mansion overlay.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

 

As I said last year, it smells like gingerbread in this part of the ride. Untitled

The doors open and close for the house.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Can you tell what this is? It’s obvious to me since I took the picture but it’s Erin’s glow in the dark nail polish she had painted over her nails.  Anything like that will glow in these rides.
Untitled

Untitled

It’s not a trip without stopping by to see my dad’s stone.

Untitled

Untitled

 

I managed to squeeze in a little shopping before we left and I will share what I got at the end of this series of my trip.  I’m always sad to leave Disneyland whether I’m there 1 day or 10.  (I’ve never done 10 but I wouldn’t have a problem doing that one bit!) Overall, it was a great day with perfect weather at Disneyland.

Up next will be our visit to the Hollywood Walk of Fame with a little bit of the rest of what we did in LA.

One thought on “Day Trip to Disneyland!

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! My New Years Resolutions | Losing It!

Leave a Reply

